01492 533131 - Pete@hireahymer.com

Reviews

Overview: (based on 241 reviews)

85%
13%
0%
0%
1%

Just like to thank A hymer and Paul for makeing our holiday a Great succsess and a wanderful adventure.We traveled to the peak district and the Lakes with little effort.I will be hiring again and booking the van for a longer holiday.Thanks again Paul and Ahymer

- Philip - 03/09/2015

We hired Ned for a 5 day mini trip down south to tour the coast from Salcombe up to Sand backs, pitt stopping at Durdle door and Lulworth cove along the way. Without a doubt – the best holiday ever – and that single handedly was down to our choice of transport. Ned didn’t fail to disappoint – totally reliable, comfy and of course being super vintage and cool!Left hand drive and bizarre gearbox was a bit daunting at first but you quickly acclimatize to it.I think we pleasantly surprised Pete and Phil by being able to survive the trip and bring the Hymer back in one piece!!Highly recommend it to anyone wanting a a memorable trip and we are already planning the Euro Hymer time trip for 2016!We are always delighted to see our customers come back with large smiles on their faces – we are just as delighted to our motorhomes come back in one piece Glad you had a great trip.

- Lauren - 26/08/2015

The 4 of us took Ned round 7 countries (England, France, Belgium, Luxembourg, Germany, Switzerland and Italy) in just 16 days. Travelling a total of 3426 miles Ned held out extremely well no trouble at all, making our holiday a fantastic experience.Pete and Phil were fantastic from the word go, from altering our dates for us after booking, too cleaning Ned beautifully before pick up and explaining exactly how everything worked. We went for the extra box and bike rack on the back which were very useful!We had an amazing time will definitely Hire a Hymer again!

- The - 23/08/2015

We hired Smithers for 2 weeks in August. Pete and Phil of hire a hymer are some of the nicest and helpful blokes you could ever want to meet. The old hymer was cleaned to within an inch of its life before pick up, the old girl behaved impeccably for 2200km, she ain’t fast but it don’t matter that much. Great MPG for a big girl. They allowed me to fabricate and take a scooter rack to fit to the back which is an astonishing service. We had a fabulous time taking in le-mans, the mountains and national parks of the centre of France, then up to Paris to visit the palace of Versailles.highly recommended.THANK YOU SO MUCH PETE AND PHIL

- Simon - 22/08/2015

We hired Nelson to go to a 4 day festival.We found the service offered both professional and very helpful, explaining the eccentricities of vintage Hymers in a sensible, useful manner.The van behave immaculately for us and we thoroughly enjoyed using him.Thanks guys for the help and service, helped make a great long weekend for us

- Mark - 10/08/2015

Hired a 6 birth Hymer motorhome for our trip to the Tour de France. Friendly and efficient service on pickup and van was comfortable and well equipped. Helpful with advice, maps and camping sites in France. Nice to deal with a company with no hidden costs.Would highly recommend.

- Liz - 06/08/2015

Four girls in the wonderful Lenny for Glastonbury. What an adventure!! The girls who were driving were a bit nervous beforehand, but after a few minutes they were right as rain. Peter and all the hire-a-hymer guys were fantastic, and helped out when I couldn’t get the fridge working when we actually got to glasto. I was amazed at how comfy it was to sleep in Lenny. It was fun cooking inside too. The only drawback was having to empty the cassette toilet, but we took it in turns and it was a small price to pay for a fab week. Pleasure – very glad you had a great time

- Bridget - 23/07/2015

Just got back from a great weekend at Silverstone...1st time renting a Hymer Phil, Pete

- Johnny - 07/07/2015

Just got back from Silverstone today after camping since Thursday. Last year me and my bro took a transit T4 on hire but then we found hireahymer and i’m so glad we did, 12 miles away from the circuit , friendly staff , everything you need , we had an electric hook up but the power supply did go off a few times though we only noticed cos other people told us , as everything was still working off the leisure battery. Hireahymer is our first choice for our next Silverstone visit or for any other jaunt come to that, would highly recommend them

- Dave - 06/07/2015

From the very start of the booking process to the handover by two Glasto weary souls, everything was perfect!Smithers looked after us very well, from the second we rocked up to be shown the ropes, through to the long drive to get there..then every late night when we fell through the door to every early morning when we fumbled with the shower…Smithers was totally amazing.Everything is considered…down to the USB links so we could charge our phones in the muddy field and the connector which meant we had great tunes from our playlist all the way there and back!This was our first Hymer experience and we would definitely book with you guys again. Smithers did an amazing job from start to finish! There were many admiring glances from fellow festival goers over the weekend and I have a feeling that next year you will be overwhelmed with Hymer requests for Glasto.Not sure if it was Smithers’ first time at Glasto but I’m sure it won’t be the last.thanks guys:-)

- Caroline - 06/07/2015

This was our third year in a row with Hire a Hymer. And next year will be our fourth.I just can’t fault these guys for their pragmatic approach and friendly and helpful nature.This year we had 5 campers in total – 4 Hymers and one ‘modern’ one – we arranged an early collection and after the necessary handover process (which we’re getting pretty good at) off we went!The campers are not the MOST luxurious you will see but they DO have the most character, and are great to drive. They have pretty much everything you need for a festival or holiday.I’m not going to wax lyrical too much about them – I want to make sure we’ve booked for 2016 before I do that!Don’t hesitate to use these guys if you are looking for a brilliant motorhome full of charm and character, at a reasonable price and with top class support from the Hire a Hymer base!Cheers Pete

- Graham - 25/06/2015

What a great motor home, well equipped, spotlessly clean and a great drive, it is an older van so it does need driving but that gives it it’s extra pleasure.The guys at base are really nice, very professional and approachable and friendlyA great company to use if you want to hire, 5Star…. Mark

- Mark - 06/06/2015

We have just retuned from a brilliant break in France in “Maggie” a classic Hymer.Just to reassure you these Hymers might be 20 years old but after 5 minutes of driving I would happily drive all over europein it they are clean and warm and so easy to drive ,much better than an old vw. if you’re reading this review book one now you wont regret it and you too will have “miles with smiles”

- Simon - 05/06/2015

Family holidayGreat van, great holiday, great company to deal with, would hire again.

- Dave - 25/05/2015

Spent a week in Scotland during April and experienced what felt like the worst weather in Scottish history which included snow and gale force winds. You can’t rely on the weather but we could rely on Maggie and was one of the best holidays we have ever had. Maggie was an excellent vehicle, reliable, comfortable, well equipped and very warm and cosy. The service from Hire A Hymer was also first class and we are already planning our next motorhome holiday (and yes it will be with Hire A Hymer).

- Lynda - 27/04/2015

We hired “Lisa” for a long weekend as my son was sailing in a competition on the south coast. Lisa was great, had everything we needed and was very comfortable. The “Hirea Hymer” team are very helpful and friendly. Lisa is a classic so a little noisy but that just meant we turned up the music volume and sang very loudly. We had a great trip and I know I will be nagged by my children to hire again for future sailing weekends. I drove over 400 miles and even as a “woman driver” had no problem with the size, LHD or manual gearbox (normally drive an automatic). Excellent x

- Claire - 25/03/2015

We hired nelson for a long weekend in February and loved it so much that on Monday we’re flying to Germany to buy one!Even our 15 year old son, who’s normally way too cool to holiday with parents, loved the adventure! Great friendly, hassle free pick up

- Yvone - 13/03/2015

We have just returned from a 7 night road trip in Otto the 1994 Hymer s660…Hire a Hymer is a very professional setup and I cannot fault the service from picking up Otto on Friday afternoon to reluctantly having to part with the keys on Saturday. The handover from Phil was very comprehensive and left me fully briefed for a trouble free holiday. I found trhe driving experience utterly brilliant but don’t expect driving one of these classic motorhomes to be like driving a modern van as you will be left disappointed, what you get is an old but willing merc diesel that pulls all day long at a reasonable pace and if required and the correct gear is selected will pull you up the steepest of gradients with ease and cruises on the motorway between 60-70 without a problem. We encountered some fairly narrow lanes around the Gower Peninsula and once you are used to the dimensions of the Hymer there are no problems. Everything you need whilst away is provided (bedding at extra cost) and we cooked both breakfast and Dinner every night and wanted for nothing. The available storage is amazing with a reasonable wardrobe and lots of cupboards. The beds are very comfortable,we used the pull down ‘over cab’ bed and found plenty of room for two decent sized adults and our 2yr old had a whole double bed to herself at the back of the van, no complaints from her!During our week on a couple of nights the temperature dropped to around freezing so we left the heater on low which kept the van at a nice comfortable temperature. Carbon Monoxide detectors are fitted should you have any concerns. The engine returned over 25mpg our trip consisting of country lanes, hills and motorway which I think is excellent for the size and age of the unit. In all a super holiday and we will be booking again…..Thank you Otto and Hire a Hymer

- Stuart - 06/03/2015

We borrowed Lenny for three nights to see if we liked motorhoming.we loved it! going from tents to caravans to motorhomes and we found that it was a dream, we loved the fact that we could turn up and plug in and relax! Lenny was lovely and we will be doing it again…

- mark - 16/10/2014

We hired Selma for a three week retirement trip in Scotland, with a stop at Lindisfarne en route. We had a great time with one breakdown(fan belt). However this gave us a chance to visit Kelso. Fault was fixed within a hour or so by Ednam Autos after being directed there by HireAHymer, and off we went again, visiting Stirling, Oban and a tour round Loch Lomond.We were very comfortable and trickled along at 50 mph, but covered over a thousand miles all together. We have since been looking for a van, but nothing seems to compare with old Hymers. They are solid and dependable, and we would thoroughly recommend HireAHymer.

- Steve - 14/10/2014

Add review

 I consent to my details to be used as specified in the Privacy Policy