01492 533131 - Pete@hireahymer.com

Reviews

Overview: (based on 234 reviews)

85%
14%
0%
0%
1%

Excellent customer service, helpful staff and well maintained vehicles. Considering this was our first time doing anything like this, we loved every second. The pick up went smoothly with lots of helpful information passed on. The weekend was a huge hit with our children and even my husband enjoyed himself.

- Louise - 08/05/2019

From start to finish, my enquiries were answered immediately and professionally. A lovely friendly company to work with who are flexible and accommodating. Great service, I am sure we will be using your company again, when the next 24 hour race comes around!

- Jo - 30/04/2019

Really happy to decided to hire Hymer from Peter. He was helpful with few small issue we had. Highly recommend to any one who planing their first experian with campervan.

- David - 23/04/2019

Fantastic time We hired Gunter as we are considering buying a motorhome and have never used one before, although we have friends with one. Gunter was clean, well maintained and proved easy to drive, OK on fuel at c.30mpg, warm and comfortable with everything we and our 2 Cockapoos needed for our first adventure in a motorhome. Peter was really helpful. We enjoyed it so much we plan on hiring a bigger one for early 2019. Highly recommended.

- Vanessa - 26/10/2018

Trying a Hymer We wanted to try an A class and LHD before buying one, as it seemed a short test drive would be too novel to be informative. How true that turned out! We did settle in though and learned a lot about what we want and dont want. Despite reading other similar reports we were amazed at how well we got on with the LHD. The whole experience couldn’t have been better. The van was solid, started on the button and issued no smoke signals despite us passing 264000kms! Its the end of the season and Maggie is about 25 so you cant expect pristine but she was clean comfortable and everything functioned. Fuel consumption was very reasonable. Hire a Hymer makes the whole process of hiring very relaxed with none of the stress we have experienced with van hires in the past. The only problem now is -do we buy one or just hire one when we want one!

- Nich - 04/10/2018

The Best Place to hire I love Hire a Hymer. They realise you’re going camping and as a result are thoughtful about the little things. They include all the things you need. They are relaxed and if you treat the van well, they treat you well. Other friends booked with other Hire companies and even though we were stationary for most of the hiring, they were nervous the whole weekend about things going wrong. We knew if we respected the van, we would be ok on the return. We had Gunter and was a lovely size to drive. Great layout and easy to do all the water, electricity and toilet stuff. The whole experience was marvellous. I highly recommend booking with these guys. They are lovely. If you want posh posh posh then I”m not sure – we didn’t take one of their poshest ones.

- Kate - 06/09/2018

Wonderful experience We had the pleasure of hiring Chief Wiggum for 5 days to go to France; the service from Peter was professional, friendly, helpful before during and after we returned. We were able to collect the Hymer a few hours early which really made a difference. It was a wonderful experience!

- Johanna - 13/06/2018

Gunter’s Scottish trek A group of 3 us lads decided on a trip to Fort William for the Mountain Bike Downhill World Cup. Over a few beers it was decided to go down the Motorhome route. A friend of mine put us on to Pete at Hire a Hymer, and as we lived locally it was perfect location to pick up. We had excellent service from booking up to dropping off. We chose Gunter as it was a bit newer and we planning to do around a 1000 miles over the weekend. The fuel economy was surprisingly good (around 30 odd miles to the gallon), and would cruise along happily at 70 on the motorways. There was everything you needed on board. We made the use of the outside table and chairs, sat under the awning, with Ben Nevis range as our view from the car park. we were lucky with the weather too. Sleeping was comfortable, the shower worked well too. no problems with room. I’m 6ft and didn’t have any issues at all. If you get the chance hire a van. 100% recommend. I shall definitely use again. Highly recommend the A82 route around the lochs and and mountains from GLasgow area around Fort William and back, simply stunning. Thanks Pete for your service. Dom

- Dom - 12/06/2018

Great service First time I’ve hired a van and glad I used these guys Pete was very helpful and talked me through the use of the van . These are not new vans but have plenty of character and had everything I needed for 3 of us to have a lovely trip down to Brighton . I have made another booking for 10 days in July to go to Ireland . I travelled down from Coventry and left my car there and took of in Ralph me and the family loved it thanks Pete

- Ant - 07/06/2018

Springtime memories with Maggie I thoroughly enjoyed my three weeks holiday in Maggie the Hymer. I’m thinking of buying a motorhome for my retirement and thought it best to hire one first to see if I liked the lifestyle and Hire A Hymer came well recommended so went ahead. Touring solo and an oldish female I was a bit apprehensive but welcomed the challenge of getting to know the workings of a twenty five year old classic van; I immediately felt confident in the ability of the engine, LHD wasn’t the problem I’d thought it would be, I soon got used to it, the gears were a bit awkward, changing with my right arm, it might have been more comfortable with an automatic. I particularly liked the stable door and cooking breakfast in beautiful Spring countryside. Overall it was exciting time learning how to empty the grey water, the cassette toilet and filling with LPG etc…I felt a great sense of achievement at the end of my holiday with Maggie. A big thank you to Peter at Hire A Hymer.

- Kathleen - 24/05/2018

Hired twice from these guys, Peter is a legend, extremely helpful on both occasions. The vans are brilliant and well prepared, coming with everything you need for a fantastic trip. Rock solid and reliable.Have recommend to friends and family and would certainly use again in the future.The vans have plenty of character and are great fun.Very comfortable, providing a great night’s sleep and more than capable on the road.Your given a full run down of the vans on pick up and Peter is more than happy to answer questions on the phone if you need during your travels.We we’re given a free upgrade as one of the two vans we booked was involved in an accident and although just repaired Peter wanted to double check everything before renting it out.Absolute brilliant service, these guys go above and beyond. Many thanks for a great trip and many brilliant memories.

- Paul - 08/04/2018

- World - 12/02/2018

gunter we were very impressed with how helpful Peter and his staff were and being able to pick up early was a great help. this was an experiment to take our two dogs with us and we soon got into a routine especially at bed time. Unfortunately we picked the wettest time of year to tour Scotland so were unable to use the bbq or awning. Gunter drives really well once I got used to a manual gear box. We had one minor set back that the side door lock jammed so had to enter from the front. Overall I would recommend this company for the ease of booking friendly service but if we book again we would need a bigger van.

- phil - 12/02/2018

- Roz - 12/02/2018

A great couple of weeks away in Europe in Millhouse. Good fuel consumption. Although left hand drive, easy to drive whilst in Europe. The only complaint I have really is that there was no corkscrew provided.

- Spidermonkey - 12/02/2018

This was our first rental with Hire-a-Hymer but definitely NOT the last.Over the past 5 years, we have rented a wide range of RV’s from pop-top T5’s to big 6 berth motor-homes. Honestly – this has been the best experience out of the all of our RV holiday rentals.We had, sadly, lost a lot of enthusiasm for motor-homing due to the last 2 rentals. Both brand new, very high spec motor-homes that looked like New York apartments but proved quite uncomfortable, impractical and awkward in day to day use.Lenny, on the other hand was far from new – but absolutely perfect for our Christmas in Norfolk. We are a couple with 2 small dogs.Loads of space in a very clever layout. The weather was very cold this Christmas but we were as cosy as could be with the heating system. Two incredibly comfortable and spacious double beds. We preferred the lounge bed to the pull down bed over the cab seats simply because it was so much bigger, easier to get in and out of and meant we could watch TV. Setting it up was also dead easy.The pull down bed was super comfortable – just the added complexity of climbing up and down a ladder in your 50’s made the lounge bed the easier choice.Everything worked perfectly. Lenny was a great drive. Strong engine a little bit noisy but quickly got used to it. Great visibility including the reversing camera. Dead easy to park. Automatic gearbox a joy. LHD not an issue due to the high seating position. We had sun, rain, hail, snow, high winds – the lot. Nothing was a problem for Lenny.Peter, the owner was most helpful and friendly right from our initial telephone inquiry.Unfortunately, I damaged something internally that I am very annoyed about as it was clumsy on my part. Peter has been a complete gentleman in his response to this breakage.Excited about going for an even bigger Hymer in the Summer from Peter.Highly recommended.

- Peter - 19/01/2018

Just a quick note to say that we have had to postpone our hymer hire but Peter was fast to reply to emails and really helpful to resolve the issue. Really great customer service, thanks!

- Mark - 19/12/2017

A group of 3 families each hired a Hymer to go to Shambala Festival and it was our best one yet! We go every year and it was such a different experience form our usual camping in a Bell Tent. No carrying stuff. Great comfortable beds, black out blinds so we slept later, and despite the hot wether we were lovely and cool inside the camper. We loved it so much will be hiring again next year.Peter and his team were so helpful and contactable they were very accommodating with a laid back attitude that made the whole experience from start to finish a pleasure. The kids loved it too and thought it was a really cool with the swivel chairs and drop down bed over cab.I can’t recommend highly enough and give it a 10/10

- Jacqui - 15/10/2017

This was our 4th year using hire a hymer and as always thew service was impeccable. We previously hired ned and decided to got a bit bigger this year and went for nelson. Cant beat hire a hymer as their value, quality and service are next to none. We will be back next year. Look forward to seeing you again soon Peter.

- Sean - 25/09/2017

We hired Homer for 5 weeks this summer and had a fantastic holiday travelling throughout Ireland and Wales. We really enjoyed staying in Homer and will definitely be hiring again. Peter and the team at Hire a Hymer are really helpful and nothing was too much bother for them. Such a great company to do business with and as I’ve said we will definitely be booking again. Thanks so much for all your help. We loved Homer. It was quite sad to hand him back.

- Maeve - 17/09/2017

Add review

 I consent to my details to be used as specified in the Privacy Policy