01492 533131 - Pete@hireahymer.com

Reviews

Overview: (based on 234 reviews)

85%
14%
0%
0%
1%

Glasto 2013 Top Campervan.Top Company.Top Service.Top all-round.Highly Recomended.

- Paul - 18/06/2013

Fantastic hire We took Selma to Glastonbury this year, and couldn’t have asked for a better van or better service from the guys. Everything from the booking process, getting answers to questions that I inundated them with and the pick up and drop off process was done fantastically. And Selma herself was fantastic. Everything we needed was included, she was easy to drive, decent on fuel and comfortable. Looking forward to finding another weekend that we can hire from these guys.

- Mel - 18/06/2013

We took Sideshow Bob to France. !! He was great to drive easy to manoeuvre for his size and very comfortable to sleep in.Great shower too:-)We stayed on quite a few camping sites where Bob seamed to be loved and admired by everyone passing by.We got caught up in a sudden massive storm in Rocamadour in the Dordogne where hailstones were the size of golf balls were coming down breaking branches from the trees and bouncing off the camper. Unfortunately we had had the awning out as it had been previously very hot and sunny. The awning ended up with a couple of tips in it:-( We explained when we got back and they were very nice about it. :-)All good and we had a fabulous time.Wendy and Mark

- Wendy - 18/06/2013

Download Festival c/o HireAHymer Throughout the entire booking process HireAHymer were brilliant, humoring me by answering my incessant questions, being a first timer at this years Download Festival (first time without having to do the walk of death into the campsites that is!) We collected Herb and Bart on the Wednesday, and were given a full tour of the vehicle and any further questions we had were answered, then it was off and up the M1 to Donington. The vans were easy to drive, fairly easy to manoeuvre into camp (given Herbs rather large ‘back-end’). Then it was handbrake on and beers open! Sleeping / Cooking etc. were brilliant – the fridge kept the beer cool and the hobs kept the tea hot in the morning… we did have a [user initiated] issue with a leisure battery on the Friday, but HireAHymer were brilliant sorting it out for us and offered to come onto site to sort it if needed…. never felt we were on our own for the entire trip. The return and hand-back process was easy, and we’re already looking to book for next year – definitely not going back to camping now!! Thanks all at HireAHymer for a GREAT experience…

- Graham - 18/06/2013

Easter with Ralph… What a great time my wife a 4 year old & a 7 month old had in Ralph traveled around 450 miles without a problem Ralph was very clean, beds were comfertable, heating was very good, cooking was easy. Traveled to bath, ilfracombe & the cotswold, poor Ralph got a bit beaten up by the monkeys at longleat, what a great way to drive through the saffari park. Would highly recommed HireaHymer & will hire with them again. Keep up the good work lads.

- Matthew - 28/05/2013

Fantastic Hi Myself and my wife have always wanted to try out a Hymer as we have hired out a high top van and found them very cramped and uncomfortable We are a family of five and we had no problem with space in this Hymer I found it very relaxing to drive and am more than impressed with its performance even though it is 20 years old WE WOULD HIGHLY RECOMMEND HIRING FOR A FAMILY HOLIDAY Our only disappointment is that we left it to late to book one up for July to Aug as they have all been booked out

- Mark - 26/05/2013

I believe that the ‘camping under a tent thing’ is well and truly gone with my family as we had such a fantastic time in Bart. It was great to have the experience of being in a field but the knowledge of a dry bed and heating at the end of the day was brilliant. As Bart is an automatic he is easy and light to handle, even being left hand drive is no real problem. Great weekend and looking forward to taking him out again.

- Trish - 26/05/2013

Long weekend in Wales We found Hire a Hymer while looking at motorhomes on Gumtree and when we discovered it was only a couple of miles up the road from us decided it would be a great opportunity to see how we liked motorhoming. Yes we did! We soon got used to Marge’s idiosyncratic characteristics and had a good run down to a lovely campsite in Talybont on Usk. The nights were very cold but we stayed snug in the van. With a little bit of adaptation we were able to get our tandem onto the bike rack. John and Peter were very helpful with some minor problems and we will definitely be back again. No more shivering in a tent!

- Nigel - 26/05/2013

Van was clean, tidy, well equipped and everything worked. Initially, left hand drive was tricky but became easier as the week progressed. Flexibility of pick-up and return times was handy. A little padding on the rungs of the ladder for getting up to bed would be appreciated.Generally, a good experience

- Geoff - 25/05/2013

Happy Campers!Had a great weekend in the motor home. Came with everything we needed, and was a better drive than some I’ve Driven. Everything worked great, and we were comfortable at all times.Thanks to the team, Jamie

- Jamie - 25/05/2013

First time, won’t be the last time!We had a really wonderful weekend taking Marge to Norfolk, the first time we have ever been motorhoming. Hymers are cool! Thanks for allowing us to take our dogs along. The separate shower cubicle with great water pressure was as good as being at home. We are having withdrawal symptoms now and wish we were going off this weekend too.

- Deborah - 25/05/2013

Weekend in WalesI wasn’t too sure what to expect as I pulled out of the farm driveway in my old classic Hymer and started heading to Wales ,but it wasnt long for my love affair with Selma to kick in .What a wonderfully classic motorhome ,she was great to drive ,left hand drive automatic ,no problem at all ,big great steering wheel and handled superb.When I was pitched up on the camp site she became a home from home with all the facilities you could need for a weekend or weeks away . I’ve booked Ralph for a weekend in July ,and can’t wait to get away again in a classic,thanks to Peter

- Dave - 25/05/2013

Hymer in the peak We had a wonderful time in the peak national park, camping on a isolated farm on top of the world with views to dream of. And the beauty about the hymer is that you can lay in bed and dream right out of the panoramic front window. The shower is also large enough to really be used and we had plenty water even after camping in the wild without fresh water and electricity. Amazingly the narrow roads were not a problem, and the hymer is small enough to park nearly anywhere. We are now planning our next venture to the continent. What a wonderful way to get around

- Erwin - 25/05/2013

We had a fantastic time travelling all around Somerset and Devon for the week in Lisa.The facilities were excellent-The shower was hot and we managed to get eight showers out of thisVery warm and cosy with the gas heater, so warm we had to switch it out at night in November!All mod cons– reversing camera, TV, DVD player and grillIt was lovely to do some wild camping, as well as sitesWe would hire a classic hymer again and also recommend it to our friends and family.Peter was very friendly and accomodating, answering all of our many questions!He also showed us around all of his collection of ‘Simpsons’!

- Andy - 20/05/2013

This was our first time in a motorhome, and with 3 children in tow, we weren’t quite sure how it would go. We needn’t have worried, everything about the whole holiday from booking to return was seamless. John and Peter explained everything at collection so we felt confident to hit the road.First stop , our driveway! The kids were so excited upon Maggie’s arrival and it was too late to go away on our first night, so they decided to set up home on the drive. We hooked up and after 5 minutes of having the gas fire on, the van was cosy and warm and the kids had a good night’s sleep.On Sunday off we drove to Peterchurch in Herefordshire, Maggie was a solid drive and my hubby soon got used to the gears and left hand drive. The campsite at Poston Mills was beautiful and we enjoyed setting up the awning and sitting out in some (Autumnal) sunshine!We visited nearby Hay-on-Way enjoying the many bookshops, and picked up some local produce to cook that night in Maggie. The 3 ring gas hob allows for easy cooking and I was able to make a family meal most nights (and wash up afterwards!). The fridge and small freezer are also really handy, and we were able to store a good selection of food and drinks.On Wednesday we went off to Cardiff staying at Tregedar House Caravan Site on the way. My son and hubby had tickets for the Dr Who Exhibition, so we drove Maggie to the ‘Park

- Bryant - 20/05/2013

My wife

- Alex - 20/05/2013

We hired Bart for our first family trip in a camper van to go on our Summer holidays to France.We were attracted by the novelty, price and the unlimited mileage but didn’t really have any idea how we and are kids (6

- Mark - 19/05/2013

We can not speak highly enough of our experiences when hiring a vintage campervan from Peter James at HireAHymer.The idea of hiring a vintage camper had not occurred to us until we happened across his excellent website, so we contacted Peter to confirm availability of one of the larger campers. Peter responded quickly to our emails and queries, and made the whole experience very pleasurable. He even came and collected us from the train station in Milton Keynes, before giving us a very thorough familiarization tour of Barney. When we had a fridge failure, his brother John even offered to bring a portable replacement to us near Torquay.We have no reservation in recommending HireAHymer to other New Zealand visitors.

- Peter - 18/05/2013

Barney at the races Collected Barney 12th April for a weekend. My husband does Club motor racing and as Barney has a tow bar, he was ideal to attach the race car and trailer to. It was also my sisters 50th birthday, so a good weekend planned. Sitting and driving on the wrong side of the vehicle, we soon got used to, as did we the upside down gears!. Towed very well, even with a car and trailer that weighs 1600kg, we still achieved 25 miles to the gallon. Very comfortable, well equipped, created a lot of interest at the race track, and did have to conduct a few guided tours, people could not believe how much room there was inside. Would reccommend to anyone and Peter was so helpful. Thank you so much. Otto is booked for a trip to Belguim in June, for my husband to race at Spa. P.S. Weekend finished perfectly, as my husband won his class and we bought home another trophy.

- Dawn - 17/05/2013

We hired Lisa for a week over Christmas and we had a fabulous time. We drove around the south west of England staying in camp sites or pulling up where ever we felt like. As a first time van driver, Lena felt it was really easy to accustom to and grew to prefer driving Lisa over a car! The weather wasn’t always great on the trip and it was amazing having all that space in the van to hang out in and listen to the wild rain and winds. We would like to thank Peter for being so helpful, good humored and available to give us advice when ever we needed it. We are already talking about having another hymer trip with Hireahymer soon, could not recommend enough.

- Alena - 17/05/2013

Add review

 I consent to my details to be used as specified in the Privacy Policy